Cooking In The Dark. (A new found skill)

A couple pf nights ago, I made dinner…at 11:00 pm.
The Womb-fruit was nicely sated from the fast food that he had procured earlier that day and I had obviously been left alone to wither away and die now that his stomach was digesting the remains of his high fructose corn syrup, yeast, soybean oil, wheat gluten, leavening, mono and diglycerides, monocalcium phosphate, and calcium propionate meal.(Damn McDonald’s, you really need to work on making your products more appealing)
Why the late night cooking? That would be because not only did I get side lined by a bout of extreme nausea, but that said nausea also decided to perform a couple of drop kicks to the stomach, and a body slam, before nicely rounding the whole thing of with a headlock. By 11:00 pm, the nausea had worn off and my stomach was bitching that it felt as though it had been on a forced hunger strike.

Do you know what it’s like to cook spaghetti bolognese late at night…in the dark? That’s right, In the dark, because the kitchen light seems to be going through an identity crisis and now thinks that it’s some kind of strobe lighting from the 70’s. I couldn’t see a thing, but I’m pretty sure that I smelled something burning and I’m also pretty sure that the thing burning was me. I’ll soon find out when the numbness from fatigue wear off. Anyway, I’m now counting cooking in the dark as a new found skill. So now I’m finished, here’s a picture of my culinary efforts…

black

And here’s another view from the side.

black

And now for an ariel view.

black

I think you’ll all agree that it looks very tasty.

7 thoughts on “Cooking In The Dark. (A new found skill)

  1. Well, it certainly looked delicious, positively made my mouth water.
    P.S Hope you didn’t burn anything important or yourself! šŸ˜‰ ) – was that too sarky? I think it might have been, but it seemed the thing to say. You know I think you are important šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you. And it delicious too. Not too sure what the crunchy bits were, but the cockroaches that we had, seemed to have disappeared…

      Was your comment sarky? If it was, then my sark-o-metre must be broken because that’s not how it came across.
      You know, I still don’t know what that burning smell was, but I am fully intact and full of life…just kidding. I’m bloody knackered.
      And thank you lovely lady. I think you’re important too…in a strictly platonic way you understand. šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lily, your culinary creation looks quite tasty from all angles although a tad well done perhaps LOL! Iā€™m sorry you had been so sick all day causing you to cook at night in awful lighting, but I really love your sense of humor. Cooking in the dark really would take skill and I doubt I could pull it off without burning the house down! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Madilyn, it was quite a challenge and one that I was well up for. I have learned a very valuable lesson through this experience. Cook like I’m making enough dinner to feed the 5000 and then freeze the buggers for leftovers. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

